# Young People May Work on Farms

New Jersey Child Labor Law Permits Farmers to Employ Children



## Young people may work on a farm

- If they are at least 12 years old
- Up to 60 hours a week, but
  >not more than 10 hours a day and
  > not more than 6 days in a row
- With no restrictions on time of day or night *except* that those younger than 16 may not work during the hours they must attend school.

#### Breaks

Workers younger than 18 must be given a 30-minute meal or rest break after working 5 consecutive hours.

## **Work Permits**

- · Farm workers under age 16 need a work permit.
- Farm workers age 16 and older do not need a work permit.
- A work permit may be easily obtained by providing the child's proof of age (birth certificate, baptismal certificate, or other acceptable proof) to the School Issuing Officer.
  - >> If the child lives in New Jersey, their parent or legal guardian applies to the School Issuing Officer in the school district where the child lives.

>> If the child's permanent residence is in another state but will be working in New Jersey, their parent or legal guardian applies to the school district in which the child will work.

• Work permits are valid for 6 months and can be renewed without presenting proof of age. The young worker may take the permit from job to job. The employing farmer should keep it on file.

#### Young workers may do work that is *not* dangerous.

- Children under 16 years old may use standard domestic type machines, office machines, standard types of poultry feeders, egg graders, egg washers, egg coolers and milking machines.
- Children age 16 and older may drive tractors and operate all machinery except the few listed below as hazardous.
- Workers age 18 and older are no longer covered under New Jersey's Child Labor Law, and may do any type of farm work.

**Enforced by**: Wage & Hour Division & Contract Compliance New Jersey Department of Labor & Workforce Development PO Box 389 • Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

This and other required employer posters are available free online at *nj.gov/labor*.

Work accidents for workers younger than 18 occur twice as often as the average rate for workers over 18. Observing a few simple rules helps prevent injuries and keep children safe. The following restrictions on hazardous work apply only to workers under 18 years of age.

## You must be at least 18 to do some hazardous work

To work with these PRODUCTS:

- 1. Dangerous or poisonous acids and dyes
- 2. Injurious quantities of toxic or noxious dusts, gases, vapors, or fumes
- 3. Benzol or any benzol compound which is volatile or which can penetrate the skin
- 4. Explosives and highly inflammable substances
- 5. Pesticides

To use these MACHINES:

- 1. Power-driven woodworking machinery (Supervised bona-fide apprentices may do this work.)
- 2. Grinding, abrasive, polishing, or buffing machines
- 3. Guillotine-action cutting machines
- 4. Operating or repairing elevators or other hoisting apparatus
- 5. Corn pickers, power-driven hay balers, or power field choppers
- 6. Compactors
- 7. Circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears

To do these ACTIVITIES:

- 1. Oiling, wiping, or cleaning machinery in motion or assisting therein
- 2. Working around steam boilers carrying a pressure in excess of 15 pounds
- 3. Transporting payrolls off the employer's premises
- 4. Demolition of buildings, ships, or heavy machinery
- 5. Construction work of any kind

The hazardous work listed on this poster is likely to apply to farm work. Other types of hazardous activities apply mostly to non-farm activities. For more information about these or other New Jersey Child Labor Laws, contact:

Wage and Hour Division and Contract Compliance NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development PO Box 389

Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0389

Or your local Board of Education Issuing Officer